Concert

Sun
11.
09.
22

MINI TREES

Support: Gracie Gray
Mini Trees
On sale: Friday 6th May, 10am.

For better or for worse, life keeps moving forward. It’s this fundamental truth that Lexi Vega, the creative force behind Mini Trees, confronts throughout her debut album Always In Motion. But coming to terms with this inevitability has been a life-long struggle.

The daughter of a Cuban-born father and Japanese-American mother, the uniqueness of her identity has been an ever-present tension in Lexi’s life. She never quite fit in growing up within predominantly white communities in suburban southern California, with few who around her outside of her family to understand the generational scars caused by both exile and internment. When she was only 5 years old, Vega’s father, a professional drummer himself, took his own life. These traumas set in motion an ongoing questioning of Vega’s own self identity - and Mini Trees has provided the palette for Vega to process, to persevere, and to grow.

After playing drums in various projects for years, Vega began writing and recording her own music under the moniker Mini Trees in 2018. She recorded her first solo track in the Summer of 2018 with producer Jon Joseph and was immediately hooked on the feeling of creating something that spoke directly to her as an artist, fully in control of her own vision. Mini Trees debut EP, Steady Me, dropped in 2019 and Vega followed it with 2020’s EP, Slip Away.

Following the release of these two EPs and with ample time to work on music during 2020, Vega both found herself ready to progress creatively and challenging many of her long-held beliefs and notions about her own identity. Originally envisioned to be yet another EP, Vega instead began working on what would become her debut full length, Always In Motion, a collection of relatable indie-pop songs that acknowledge our collective anxiety about life’s improbability.
Sun 11.09.2022   Berlin
Monarch
Ticket
Ticket Price
13.20 €
Admission: 19:30 –  Starts at: 20:30 –  How to get there
Payment Methods
Credit Card
Payment in advance
PayPal
Pay now

Concert

Sun
11.
09.
22
Mini Trees

MINI TREES

Support: Gracie Gray
Ticket Price 13.20 €

Concert

Tue
17.
05.
22
Ada Navarro

LIDO PIMIENTA

Support: Gotopo!
Ticket Price 17.60 €

Konzert

So
11.
09.
22

MINI TREES

Support: Gracie Gray
Mini Trees
VVK-Start: Freitag 6. Mai, 10h

Im Guten wie im Schlechten - das Leben geht immer weiter. Mit dieser fundamentalen Wahrheit setzt sich Lexi Vega, die kreative Kraft hinter Mini Trees, auf ihrem Debütalbum Always In Motion auseinander. Sich mit dieser Unvermeidlichkeit abzufinden, war jedoch ein lebenslanger Kampf.

Als Tochter eines kubanischstämmigen Vaters und einer japanisch-amerikanischen Mutter war die Einzigartigkeit ihrer Identität eine ständige Spannung in Lexis Leben. Sie passte nie so recht hinein, da sie in einer überwiegend weißen Gemeinde in einem südkalifornischen Vorort aufwuchs und nur wenige Menschen außerhalb ihrer Familie die durch Exil und Internierung verursachten Narben der Generation verstanden. Als sie erst 5 Jahre alt war, nahm sich Vegas Vater, selbst ein professioneller Schlagzeuger, das Leben. Diese Traumata setzten eine fortwährende Hinterfragung von Vegas eigener Identität in Gang - und Mini Trees bot Vega die Palette, um zu verarbeiten, durchzuhalten und zu wachsen.

Nachdem sie jahrelang in verschiedenen Projekten Schlagzeug gespielt hatte, begann Vega 2018, unter dem Namen Mini Trees ihre eigene Musik zu schreiben und aufzunehmen. Im Sommer 2018 nahm sie ihren ersten Solotrack mit dem Produzenten Jon Joseph auf und war sofort begeistert von dem Gefühl, etwas zu erschaffen, das sie als Künstlerin direkt anspricht und bei dem sie die volle Kontrolle über ihre eigene Vision hat. Mini Trees Debüt-EP, Steady Me, erschien 2019 und Vega ließ 2020 die EP Slip Away folgen.

Nach der Veröffentlichung dieser beiden EPs und mit reichlich Zeit, um im Jahr 2020 an der Musik zu arbeiten, war Vega bereit, sich kreativ weiterzuentwickeln und viele ihrer lang gehegten Überzeugungen und Vorstellungen über ihre eigene Identität in Frage zu stellen. Ursprünglich sollte es nur eine weitere EP werden, doch stattdessen begann Vega mit der Arbeit an ihrem Debütalbum Always In Motion, einer Sammlung von glaubwürdigen Indie-Pop-Songs, die unsere kollektive Angst vor der Unwahrscheinlichkeit des Lebens thematisieren, und das im September 2021 beim Label Run For Cover das Licht der Welt erblick hat. Nun kommen Mini Trees zum ersten Mal nach Deutschland.
So 11.09.2022   Berlin
Monarch
Ticket
Ticketpreis
13,20 €
Einlass: 19:30 –  Beginn: 20:30 –  Anfahrt
Allgemeine Zahlungsmittel
Kreditkarte
Vorkasse
PayPal
Sofort​überweisung

Konzert

Fr
07.
10.
22
Angela Ricciardi

ANGEL OLSEN

Special Guest: Tomberlin
Ticketpreis 29,70 €

Konzert

So
11.
09.
22
Mini Trees

MINI TREES

Support: Gracie Gray
Ticketpreis 13,20 €